HeartGold Nuzlocke: #3 A Long, Long, Long Route

One in which he finds a special rock among some normal rocks, engages in siege stall warfare, and is the lone witness to an MMA fistfight

Party:

Immediately after leaving the PokeMart, I’m confronted by a lady in a really, really GAY kimono that starts talking about the Egg as if it’s hers. Now wait a minute, miss. I don’t know why she thinks I’m taking good care of it for her, but I do know that I’m not the kind of guy that shares his eggs benedict. However, she scurries away before I can ask any questions.

Kim-oh-no she betta don’t.

Now that I’ve cleared everything in Violet, I turn to Route 36. Not much happens here as it seems a Sudowoodo is blocking the road. However, I do get the Rock Smash HM from some random guy, and teach it to Alexis, my Geodude. Seems like she’ll carry the HMs for now.

Ecruteak is blocked off, so I turn and visit the Ruins of Alph. It’s cool that the ruins area is so early in the game, as I think the Gen I fossils–Omastar and Omanyte–are probably amongst the best fossil Pokemon in the game.

I remember that an important aspect of HGSS is smashing rocks to find items, so I have Alexis pummel a few boulders and actually find a Helix Fossil! I also encounter a Geodude, Alexis’s long-lost half-sister Linda, but I run because I don’t want to bother capturing it or fighting it. I was hoping to maybe get a shard as well so I could prepare for move tutors later on, but I’m sure there will be more opportunities for that.

As I enter one of the small stone passageways, there’s a fossil puzzle waiting for me, along with a blonde puzzle show hostess whose smile is a little too… perfect.

I foolishly thought I had completed the puzzle as I took this shot but I realized afterwards that I hadn’t, and felt like an idiot.

After completing the puzzle, I fall down to the tunnels below, and am immediately ambushed by an explorer that seems a little too desperate for human contact. He gives me an Unknown tracker, which I put in my bag only out of politeness, as, besides the fact that Unknown are stupid, my Nuzlocke rules clearly prevent me from actually collecting Unknown.

Lo and behold, my first encounter is a g Unkown. gg. After struggling a bit to weaken it, I’m starting to realize that the level disparity between Aja and the wild encounters will not work in my favor, as she’s so powerful she just one-shots everything.

gg.

ACQUIRED:

undefinedUnknown (Gia Gunn) – Lv. 5. Ability: Levitate. Quirky nature. Strongly defiant. Moves: Hidden Power (15 PP).

Serving fish, feeling oats.

With Gia, I beat up some more Unknowns, hoping to level her so she can weaken future encounters for capture, but Gia is too weak to level up, so I just progress forward with Aja. Oh well.

After thoroughly exploring the ruins and just falling short of learning the rest of alphabet, I turn back to Violet to heal real quick, and also use the opportunity to drop off Jade Jolie and Serena in the PC to free up slots in my party for Pokemon I’ll catch later. Next stop–Route 32.

I fish for some new encounters while training with Gia Gunn, who grows to Lv 6. Suddenly, I encounter a Bellsprout!

ACQUIRED:

undefined Bellsprout (Kim Chi) – Lv. 6. Ability: Chlorophyll. Docile nature. Highly curious. Moves: Vine Whip (15 PP).

I name the Bellsprout Kim Chi, after the iconic paper ball looks she turned out. Also, kimchi is made from cabbages, which are plants (My mind).

Sprouted!

Right after, some man gives me a Miracle Seed. Perfect timing! Kim Chi easily whoops the Woopers and trains with the trainers, growing all the way to Lv 9 and learning Growth. Along the way, some Picknicker named Liz gives me her number in exchange for my autograph. At least someone can smell fame when they meet it!

I continue down Route 32, which is feeling quite endless. I spot some fishermen on a dock in a small lake, so I use them to continue levelling Kim Chi. She beats them all quite easily, including some guy with 4 Magikarp, but then suddenly runs out of Vine Whip PP, turning the battles into an awful game of stalling with Wrap.

more like Vine RIP.

Even after two Growth, Wrap does pitiful damage. This fisherman in particular has two Poliwags which both have and use Hypnosis, putting me to sleep, making the match take even longer. Thankfully, Bubble does next to nothing to me, so I manage to stall them out regardless, and Kim Chi grows to Lv 12. I can tell she’s exhausted from doubling her levels, however, so I let her take a breather. I switch to Aja and pummel everyone else in my way before making it to a very well-placed Pokemon Center and healing. I even find the TM for Bullet Seed, and get excited before I remember it’s Gen IV and the Base Power per hit is pitifully only 10. Vine Whip will be fine for now.

In the Pokemon Center, some guy also gives me an Old Rod. Cool, I can catch a Magikarp! …But on second thought, I can’t yet. It would probably be a good idea to hold off on that to save encounters for better Pokemon in those areas. Anyway, Water-types will be plenty later on, so there’s probably no need to rush just to get a Splash Pokemon right now.

gnarly, dude.

Continuing on down Route 32, Aja beats some bird keeper, and I head into Union Cave. Of course, as is a rite of passage for all Pokemon games, my first cave encounter is none other than a Dratini.

Gotcha!!! Hahahaha
Boo!

ACQUIRED:

undefined Zubat (Sharon) – Lv. 7. Ability: Inner Focus. Serious nature. Somewhat of a clown. Moves: Leech Life (15 PP), Supersonic (20 PP).

My first encounter is actually a Zubat. I catch it without much of a hassle, and name it Sharon, after Sharon Needles the witch bitch.

What better to pair with a witch than a bat?

… and right afterwards I see a Sandshrew and cry. Oh well, at least it’s good training EXP for Kim Chi.

I descend to a lower level of Union Cave to try to dig deeper, but my route is blocked off by Surf-only access. I encounter another Sandshrew, and realize I didn’t clarify on rules for counting different levels of caves and such as different areas. I guess for simplicity I’m going to count the entirety of union Cave as one area, for now, but that’s still in the air–I might decide otherwise later. And don’t complain if I do, because this is my runthrough, and not yours. Anyway, I don’t mind letting it go as I don’t think I would have used Sandslash if I had gotten it, but it’s a cool Pokemon nonetheless. Hopefully there will be more opportunities later.

I continue through Union Cave, beating the hikers, the weird Firebreathers, and the Pokemaniac. Seeing firebreathers in the cave really warps my grasp on reality as the concept is just so confusing to me that I lose the ability to distinguish random from reason. It really seems like the cave goes on forever, and I start to feel a little homesick.

FINALLY!

Eventually, I get to Route 33. Whew! Rather than continuing down the route, I turn right and hope to find a town. To my luck–it’s Iggy Azelea Town! Before I can entire it, however, I run into an…. awkward exchange.

May I suggest… marriage counseling?

There’s a Rocket grunt yelling at some old man very loudly. Suddenly, the Rocket grunt hits the guy, which is represented so artfully with a big ‘THUD!!’, sending him scurrying away. Well, I run away too, to heal my Pokemon and save. It’s been an exhausting journey to Azalea Town–dealing with the Rocket grunts and saving the world can wait.

Remember to save, kids.

Party:

Smile and wave, boys; smile and wave.

Leave a comment